Tuesday, June 5, 2012

And The Winner Is....

Last night was the annual CFDA Awards at Lincoln Center where the Council announced various designers as the best in their fields, be it womenswear, menswear or accessories.  The CFDA is the Council of Fashion Designers of America and strives to promote the fashion arts while setting industry standards.  The big award for the evening, Womenswear Designer of the Year, was between Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Marc Jacobs.

Marc. Jacobs. Now Marc is a very busy man.  He designs his eponymous luxe label in New York as well as Marc by Marc Jacobs and then travels to Paris where he designs for Louis Vuitton.  Both his own line and the LV lines are famous for their extravagance, both in the clothes and in the ways they are presented (just a few months ago, he showed Marc Jacobs on a maze-like set cut out of paper and LV closed Paris with a real life train rolling into the station.)

So it was a great surprise to find that the winner this year was not Marc.  It was (dumb roll please...) The Olsen Twins!  I personally, think this is amazing.  Their work for The Row is consistently fantastic.  The aesthetic is simple but the design includes the highest quality.  Even a simple white t-shirt (which, was the inspiration for starting the brand, designing the perfect t) is pure luxury.  So much thought goes into the fabrics and the fit and what flatters women.

Other big award for the night was the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award which was given to Tommy Hilfiger and the International Award, given to Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons.  Johnny Depp was also given the Fashion Icon Award.

Here are some pics of winners from the evening as well as some guests I found to be extra fashionable.

Ashley Olsen, Tommy Hilfiger and Mary Kate Olsen

Menswear Designer of the Year winner Billy Reid

Accessory Designer of the Year winner Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award winners, Phillip Lim for Menswear and Joseph Altuzarra for Womenswear

Karen Elson with Swarovski Award winner for Accessory Design, Tabitha Simmons

Media Award winners Garance Doré and Scott Schuman (of The Sartorialist)

CFDA President, Diane von Furstenberg with Steven Kolb

Carine Roitfeld and Alexander Wang

Doutzen Kroes in Sophie Theallet

Jason Wu with Jessica Stam in his design

Mandy Moore in Lela Rose

Padma Lakshmi in Naeem Khan with the designer

Rachel Zoe and Roger Bergman

(images via Style.com)

No comments:

Post a Comment